This year’s Pikes Peak International Hill Climb will feature a winner in last weekend’s 24 Hours of Le Mans race. Romain Dumas of France, who will compete for the crown in the Unlimited division Sunday on Pikes Peak, teamed with Marc Lieb and Richard Lietz to capture the title at Le Mans in the GTE Pro-Class field in a Porsche 991 RSR over 315 laps with 22 stops in the world-famous endurance race.

Dumas, who won at Le Mans in 2010, won the Pikes Peak Open division last year, driving a Porsche GT3R, in a time of 9:46.181, which was the course record until it was broken later in the Times Attack division by winner Rhys Millen in 9:46.164.


Dumas, last year’s Rookie of the Year, will be joining the big cars in the Unlimited field this year with a brand-new Norma M20FCPP prototype entry in hopes of even a faster time on the asphalt.