Posted in:

Audi Quattro Sport S1 Rally Group B “Total Tribute”

YouTube Description: Audi Quattro Sport S1 Rally Group B “Total Tribute”- The cars and Pilots

Audi Quattro Sport S1: Walter Röhrl, Stig Blomqvist, and Hannu Mikkola
Peugeot 205 Turbo 16: Ari Vatanen, Timo Salonen,  and Bruno Saby
Lançia Delta S4 & Lançia Rally 037: Markku Alén, Miki Biasion, and Henri Toivonen
MG Metro 6R4: Tony Pond
Renault 5 Maxi Turbo: Joaquim Moutinho, Jean Ragnotti
Ford RS200.

Group B was a set of regulations introduced in 1982 for competition vehicles in sportscar racing and rallying regulated by the FIA. The Group B regulations fostered some of the quickest, most powerful and sophisticated rally cars ever built and is commonly referred to as the golden era of rallying.] However, a series of major accidents, some of them fatal, were blamed on their outright speed and lack of crowd control. After the death of Henri Toivonen and his co-driver Sergio Cresto in the 1986 Tour de Corse, the FIA disestablished the class, which was replaced as the top-line formula by Group A. The short-lived Group B era has acquired legendary status among rally fans.

Written by CNaz


My Life at Speed Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer, Chris Nazarenus, had a chance meeting with key executives at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1998. It would be the "Jerry McGuire" moment that would change her life forever. Although she knew nothing about motorsports at that time, the chance meeting would influence her passion for all things fast, great stories and interesting people. That's what you will find here at My Life at Speed.

1598 posts