Rookie Roczen Wins Opening Race of Monster Energy Supercross in Anaheim
Last-Lap Pass Gives Anderson the Win 250SX Class Victory

ANAHEIM, Calif. (January 4, 2014) – In front of 45,050 fans inside a sold-out Angel Stadium, rookie Ken Roczen won the opening race of Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, aboard his Red Bull KTM. In dramatic fashion, Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson captured the opening race of the Western Regional 250SX Class.

Season Kickoff - Anaheim
Season Kickoff – Anaheim

Three-time Monster Energy Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto came out swinging in the 450SX Class Main Event, piloting his Monster Energy Kawasaki to the Nuclear Cowboyz® Holeshot Award. On Villopoto’s back wheel through the first turn was Roczen, followed by Toyota’s/Yamaha/NFab/JGRMX’s Josh Grant.

450 Main Start- Villopoto and Roczen
450 Main Start- Villopoto and Roczen

Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart moved into third place on Lap 10, passing Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey. While leading on Lap 9, Villopoto crashed and handed the lead to Roczen, also allowing Discount Tire Racing/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed and Dungey to move into second and third place, respectively. Villopoto remounted in fifth place.

Chad Reed
Chad Reed

On Lap 12, Stewart passed Reed for second place and chipped away at Roczen’s lead, ultimately closing in on his rear wheel. While attempting to get alongside Roczen in the whoops, Stewart suffered a race-ending crash. On Lap 16, Dungey secured second place as he passed Reed.

Reed Dungey Battle
Reed Dungey Battle

“This is insane,” said Roczen. “I got off to a good start and was holding on really tight. When there were four laps to go, I realized that I could win.”
Roczen was joined on the podium by Dungey, giving KTM a 1-2 sweep, and Reed. Villopoto recovered to finish fourth.

Ken Roczen-taking 450 win
Ken Roczen-taking 450 win

Anderson grabbed the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award and held down the lead in the 250SX Class Main Event until Lap 4 when Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda’s Cole Seely moved into the lead. On the same lap, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson moved into the third spot.

250 main start - Anderson
250 main start – Anderson

Wilson and GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne traded places near the halfway point of the race and the duel did not stop, lasting several subsequent laps. In the second-to-last turn on the last lap, Anderson passed Seely and rode to the second win of his career.

250 main battle for position
250 main battle for position

“The pass was [risky] on Cole (Seely),” said Anderson. “I didn’t want to be dirty but I had to put it in there, and I am glad it worked. I look forward to riding into Phoenix with the red number-one plate. This is only my second career win, so it is big for me.”

Anderson and Seely were joined Osborne on the podium, who eventually made his way past Wilson on Lap 12.

250 Podium
250 Podium

Monster Energy Supercross heads to Phoenix’s Chase Field next Saturday, January 11.

Photo credit:  Scott Hoffman

[doptg id=”313″]

250SX Class Results
•    Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., KTM
•    Cole Seely, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
•    Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda
•    Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki
•    Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha
•    Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki
•    Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki
•    Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda
•    Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda
10.Austin Politelli, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha

250SX Class Season Standings
•    Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., KTM, 25
•    Cole Seely, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 22
•    Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda, 20
•    Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki, 18
•    Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 16
•    Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki, 15
•    Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki, 14
•    Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 13
•    Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda, 12
10.Austin Politelli, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 11

450SX Class Results
•    Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
•    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
•    Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
•    Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
•    Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda
•    Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha
•    Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha
•    Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki
•    Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
•    Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki

450SX Class Season Standings
•    Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 25
•    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 22
•    Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 20
•    Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 18
•    Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 16
•    Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 15
•    Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha, 14
•    Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 13
•    Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 12
•   Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 11